It is that time of the year where people plan their “New year goals”. Some people even prefer the caption “New year, New me; Fuck haters, love those who love me”, “Drink-water-and-mind-my-business kind of year.” Laslas we what? We move!

From someone who has been battling with time management for days now, writing new year goals looks like a sport. But doing this really helps those that are committed and diligent to their plans even when life happens. There is a popular saying, “If you fail to plan, you plan to fail”. So dears, set SMART goals for 2021 if you have a picture of what you need to achieve and where you want to be by the end of the season. I wish you success.

Specific, Measurable, Achievable, Relevant, Time bound (SMART).

For those of us on “In Shaa Allah & Vibes”, It is well. This is not the time to be intimidated by other people’s plans or year review. Or worse, be envious. It’s not healthy. If you want something, work towards it. These people didn’t achieve all these by sitting. Ask questions, read books, seek for guidance, meet people that can help you and wear your face mask.

This year, I have learnt a lot and I’m grateful. Man plans but God disposes. Talk about man (me) not even having a plan at all. I never planned for all these sitting at home since march till God knows when.

One thing for sure is I’m not the same person I was last year and that is a win for me. What are you grateful for? You have been here sulking all year, “I don’t even know what to do anymore, I’m so tired of this break, for God’s sake, new year should come already!” New year is almost here and I can assure you that there is nothing like “New year, New me” for you. You are still the same human that gets up late in the morning to wake up to food and twitter trends all day, everyday. Why should you not be tired? Why? Why should you be happy when you see others topping up their games? Why?

This is not to make you feel bad. Far from it, this is a wake up call to you. Start doing things, engage yourself positively. Develop yourself. Be willing to grow.

As you do this, remember life is not a bed of roses. There are times, when you will get tired, fail or get rejected. Do not despair. Use this time to take breaks, engage in other activities that makes you happy, talk with friends and re-strategize. Have you heard of any successful persons that got to the top without a couple of No’s? Sorry dozens of No’s? You need to keep trying, never give up on your goals and passions.

I want you to be able to come back to this post on rainy days. I want you to be able to draw strength from others. I want you to be able to inspire your self. I want you to wake up everyday learning more than you did the day before. I want you to be happy and filled with contentment.

In the next year and years to come, I want you to start living. Live a happy life. Work at your own pace. Try not to compare yourself with others. In a world with trillions of people, you are your only type, there is no one like you. There is a season for everyone and your time will come. Keep working towards achieving this. Run your race.

I understand that “Problem no dey finish, try to dey enjoy”. This should not be you every day. Strive to be a better version of yourself every day. Celebrate your wins. Someone told me this year that there are really no small wins. All wins are wins.

This is my farewell message to you. I hope you are willing to learn, grow, face rejections, cry when some situations arise, take risks, secure the bag, win, achieve your goals, make productive friends and find love; in people, in life and everything in between.

6 thoughts on “2020

Leave a comment